Practice BEFORE You Preach! How to Bounce Back After a Setback.

With my radio show on the Life Coach Radio Network now in full swing every 1st and 3rd Tuesday evening of the month (insert non-shameless plug), I was feeling on top of my game.  The buzz surrounding my coaching business was growing and I was ecstatic.  I felt like nothing could bring me down.

Backtrack to last Tuesday evening, when it was time to start my live taping of the next radio show.  It went great; I was feeling confident, having fun and really feeling like I was getting the hang of it.  Sure, no one was calling in and the chat room seemed desolate, but I wasn’t going to let that get to my head.  I wrapped up at the end of the hour and went to shut down the online recording studio.  That’s when I saw the mute button in all its bright red glory and the color drained from my face.

FUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK.

This couldn’t be happening, I thought.  Not ME.  I reached out to some of my listeners that confirmed what I already knew to be true.  The whole hour was one long dead silence.  I was disappointed, embarrassed and heartbroken.  I had put so much time and energy into the show and felt like I had nothing to show for it.  And then the worst thoughts crept into my mind, what would everyone think of me?  Would they see me as careless, less valid or worse, lose interest entirely?

This then brings me to what had been the title of the show, “What Other People Think of You is None of Your Business!”  HA!  Clearly my new frame of mind was not channeling anything I just spoke about that last hour.  I acknowledged this, decided I was okay with that and let myself be upset for the day.  I knew I would laugh at all of this eventually; I just definitely wasn’t there yet.  In the meantime, I was dramatic and fermented over my “misfortune”.

sadpanda

After my one day grace period, I re-visited my material and realized that these so called “mistakes” are what shape my practice and my ability to help other people.  These experiential moments of life are what make me relatable and able to have the advantage of knowing exactly what you are going through.  It reminded me that I too go through my own challenges and my efforts to move through it are where I find the resources to give you the inner strength to improve in your own life.

Moral of the story?  I too need to practice BEFORE I can advise others of what I preach!

I’ll be doing a second take of the subject matter for my next radio show on Tuesday, August 6th at 8p.m. EST.  I’m really thrilled to share the new insights I’ve gained and how I didn’t let what I felt to be the assumptions of others from my mishap get to me.  No matter what circumstances or difficulties you may be going through, there is a way to channel out the negative thoughts that are evoked from the outside world.  I’ll discuss the ways you can do this to start seeing results as soon as the next morning!

The universe pulled a fast one on me and now I can see why.  I understand why it needed to happen and I can also laugh at what I had thought to be such a catastrophe at the time.

And you can be sure that you’ll hear me LOUD & CLEAR on the next episode of ‘New You City Chat!’ Click the link below to set a reminder for the show!

New You City Radio Chat – What Other People Think Of You Is None Of Your Business!

Ever have your own instance where you completely goofed but can laugh it off now?  Share in the comments below and let me know how you dealt with it! 

One thought on “Practice BEFORE You Preach! How to Bounce Back After a Setback.

  1. This blog post was wonderful. I’d been sharing a similar feeling all day, wondering why it is that when I feel like things are swinging into such high gear, I find myself making some mistake I thought I’d overcome. Then I spend awhile stressing over it.

    These are the experiences that shape my improved practices and habits. A much more effective and honest reframe.

    Thanks for reminding me Danielle!

Leave a Reply

